On 3 April 1945 three British regiments freed Borne. The best-known is the Dorset Regiment, an infantry battalion. The other two were less well known: The Nottinghamshire Sherwood Rangers Yeomanry and The 1st Royal Dragoons.

Notts Sherwood Rangers Yeomanry

The Nottingham Sherwood Rangers Yeomanry was originally founded in 1794 to support the Lord Lieutenant of Nottinghamshire. Their task as a cavalry unit was to maintain law and order in Nottinghamshire. The government feared that revolutionary ideas from France might gain support. The word yeomanry refers to the origin and composition of the regiment: large landowners, landed gentry, had an obligation to supply men for these tasks.

The regiment still exists. Since 1967 it has been part of The Royal Yeomanry as A-Squadron Sherwood Rangers. This means deployment wherever the British army is active.

1st Royal Dragoons

The 1st Royal Dragoons, were a mounted infantry regiment, and later became a heavy cavalry regiment in the British army. The regiment was formed in 1661. It served for three centuries and served in action during the First and Second World Wars.

In 1969 the Royal Dragoons merged with the Royal Horse Guards (Blues) and now, together, form The Blues and Royals. They are known, for instance, as the Guard of Honour at Whitehall. In addition to their ceremonial function they are part of the Household Cavalry Armoured Reconnaissance Regiment as a combat unit.

Dorsetshire Regiment

The original name is The Dorsetshire Regiment. The Dorset Regiment, an infantry regiment, was established in 1881 and existed until 1958. The 4th and 5th battalions participated in the liberation of Western Europe.

In 1948 it merged with the Devonshire Regiment under the name of Devonshire and Dorset Regiment. In 2007 a further troop reduction followed and the Devonshire and Dorset Regiment, along with seven other infantry regiments, was named The Rifles.